Precious Wilson (Eruption)

Precious Wilson (Eruption)
Release date
01 January 1970
Precious Wilson (Eruption)
01 January 1970 |

Eruption was formed in 1974 in London by vocalist Precious Wilson, Lead Guitarist Greg Perrineau, Bassist Morgan Perrineau, Keyboardist Gerry Williams, and Drummer Eric Kingsley.

Wilson was born in Jamaica and she moved with her family to Great Britain at the age of seven. The other members of the band came from different parts of the Caribbean and Africa.

In 1975, their winning of an RCA soul search contest in England brought them a record deal and their first single “let me take your back in time” (1976) figured prominently in the soul charts.

In 1977, Boney M.’s producer Frank Farian was introduced to Eruption by his talent scout Hans-Jorg Mayer, who then took them under his wing and signed the group to Germany-based Hansa records. Their 1978 cover of “I can’t stand the rain” was a big hit internationally; reaching number five in Britain and number 18 in the U.S. (it was a U.S. top 40 entry). The success was sealed with “One way ticket,” which went to number nine in the U.K. the following year.
Precious Wilson left the group in 1979 to pursue a solo career and was replaced by singer Kim Davis. The group went on to recorded their third album fight fight fight. Shortly after, tragedy hit when Kim Davis was killed in a car accident. The band decided to continue and singer Jane Jochen stepped in. A new recording, a cover of Del Shannon’s “runaway” was released in December 1980 and peaked at #21 in the German Charts.

After a compilation album in the spring of 1981 and the single release of “you (you are my soul)” from fight fight fight, the band signed to Ralph Siegel’s Jupiter Records.
Eruption featuring Jane Jochen. 1981 single “in a 1000 years”
After the final single “Where do I begin” from the album “Our way” in 1985, the group disbanded and the rest of the group went their separate ways in the mid-’80s.

In 1994 Farian released the CD ‘Eruption Gold’ which actually only featured seven Eruption titles (all were remixed), all other 13 tracks were all precious wilson solo tracks, from her solo albums.
Precious Wilson is the official and legal owner of the trade mark Eruption. She is the only member of the original line-up, who is still active.

Though successful as a solo artist, Precious also tours under the name Eruption with her new group, as well as promoting her solo and projects.